W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

Ardiuno Compatible shields

Moderator: cory.j.fowler

W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by mschinkelshoek » Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:26 pm

Update 02-01-2014:
I was a bit to fast with my previous reaction, it is now sometimes working, and sometimes not. Sometimes it has the correct IP, and sometimes it I get the IP 255.255.255.255 of 0.0.0.0.
Is this due to the hardware bug? I'm not really happy to start breaking the connection before I have the acknowledgement, but I cannot find anything else on the internet about this hardware bug, accept on the wiki site of Seeedstudio.
Is there some one with the experience of using this shield with or within breaking the connection mentioned on the wiki site?




Update 29-12-2013:
I just found out that the ports on my modem are not working right, after replacing the modem it all works fine!
I'm still wondering if any one knows more about the BUG mentioned on the wiki site. If any one has some input about this, please let me know.

Dear all,

I have bought the W5200 Ethernet Shield on 11/11/2013. I'm trying to connect the shield via LAN. I have inserted a Mirco SD card of 2 GB, connect the lan via my router. and loaded the example from the library (Ethernet V2_0) "Web server with SD". I'm able to read the output via serial-monitor, and I get the following output via serial:
Code: Select all
Initializing SD card...initialization done.
Writing to test.txt...done.
test.txt:
testing 1, 2, 3.
testing 1, 2, 3.
testing 1, 2, 3.
server is at 255.255.255.255


Whatever I try I keep getting the IP adres 255.255.255.255. Even though in the program it is stated:
Code: Select all
IPAddress ip(192,168,1,100);


Can any one help me, is this due to the bug mentioned in the wiki site? http://www.seeedstudio.com/wiki/Ethernet_Shield_V2.0
The Ethernet Shield V2.0 has a bug which makes Ethernet Shield V2.0 work not normally. We made this processing for this problem: Break the connect between the 74VHC125PW 2pin and W5200 45pin: WPDN.

I did not break the connection on my board, at this moment.

Any help is welcome!
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:14 pm

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by Jacket Chen » Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:28 pm

I'm sorry for that inconveniences, it is not the bug of the w5200 chip but the mistake of our designer. Please refer to the Bug Tracker on the wiki, and then w5200 ethernet shield would work well.

Thanks for your comprehension.
Best Regards
Jacket
Love little, love long.
User avatar
Junior-6
Junior-6
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:25 pm
Location: China

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by mschinkelshoek » Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:56 pm

Thank you for your reply!

I think it should have been correct if it was stated on the webshop of seeed that modification are necassary on the board. Because now is seeed selling something that is not working correctly.

I will perform the modification and report back when I have tested it.
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:14 pm

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by mschinkelshoek » Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:09 pm

I still have trouble getting the shield to work. When I use the examples of the library the Webserver example works, but the webserver with SD card is not working, Via serial i see it is able to read and write from the SD card, but the IP adress is not correct, it becomes 255.255.255.255. Any one has the same problem with the example?
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:14 pm

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by support2 » Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:58 am

The problem is R3 is not to ground connected and the logic state of the pin 45 is casual is not low or high.
From the W5200 datasheet:
PWDN I 45 POWER DOWN ( Active HIGH )
This pin is used to power down pin.
Low : Normal Mode Enable
High : Power Down Mode Enable

In the eagle files if you drag R3 and move it you can see is connected only to the site of pin 45 and not in the other site to ground.
Maybe if you connect the r3 to ground and reconnect the cutting connection work good.
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:49 am

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by tobrien » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:31 am

OK Seeedstudio do the right thing. You cannot expect your customers to troubleshoot your products and make delicate changes to the 5200 shield hoping that that may fix a non functioning shield.

I bought two boards which are useless. How about re-engineering the board layout, test it and send replacement boards to all of your customers that purchased the defective 5200 shield.

TFO
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:21 am

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by radu7 » Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:13 am

Does anyone have any more information on the possible issues with the Ethernet 2.0 shield? I purchased one yesterday and could not even get link on it to my Ethernet switch. I figured it was just a defective module so I exchanged it. So it turns out it was bad as the replacement shield works, sort of... The new one I got gets link, will run the webserver examples, but will randomly just stop responding. A push of the reset button usually takes care of it, but I find a shield that I have to keep pushing the reset button on not that useful. Did I get another bad module? I'm willing to exchange it once more before I just get a refund and go with another product. I see the info above about R3 not being connected to ground, etc... The shields I purchased both say v2.2 and appear to have been mfg. in February of 2014 according to the printing on the back of the shield. Would a shield of that version and mfg. date still suffer from that bug? If so is the random 'going offline' of the shield the behaviour the bug produces? Lastly if this is the bug causing my shield to randomly stop responding to network requests can someone give a little more detail or a pic of which side of R3 should be connected to ground and the best way to make that happen?

Thank you for your help.
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:02 am

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by richard6 » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:12 pm

Can somebody please clarify this? I purchased one of these today and have been using it for about six hours with no issues. I have the following questions;

1) Is it possible I have an older version / newer version? How do I know if my hardware is affected by this bug?
2) How will the bug manifest itself?
3) The "bug fix" on the Wiki is not clear. Perhaps there is a language barrier, but somebody needs to PLEASE clarify the bug and the fix.
4) Are you seriously expecting people to make a hardware change to this board? If it doesn't work, do I get my $20 back?

Thanks for any feedback.
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:04 pm

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by radu7 » Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:03 pm

Hopefully someone from Seeed will let us know what to look for regarding the bug and the various 'v2.0' versions of this board. I've been testing the V2.2 Ethernet shield that I got to replace the one I bought that was defective out of the box. At first it would work when connected via USB only using the WebServerWithSD sketch. I took it to work to test it overnight and now it will not function at all unless my Arduino Uno (R3) is powered by an external power source (I'm using a 9V regulated supply). If I try to use it with USB power only it will not work now.

Out of sheer curiosity I purchased another one to compare against. So far... it works flawlessly off of USB power only. So that makes three of the V2.2 (all mfg. date Feb. 2014) that I have had. One DOA, one a little flaky, but will work if powered via other than USB and one that is, so far, seemingly OK. The two working ones I have both require, more often than not, that I press the reset button on them after connecting USB or external power before they will initialize and obtain a network link (red LED on the board usually doesn't come on when applying power without also pressing the reset button). Not sure what to say. Is it a QA issue, or that 'bug' having different effects on two of them? I'll keep testing with the one that seems to be OK and see if it later starts failing. I also picked-up a V1.1 Seeed Ethernet shield at the same time (got it for $10) to go with my Arduino R2 and so far it seems to be just fine.

I'd like to hear a proper explanation of the bug and what versions of the '2.0' Ethernet shield it affects and maybe a close-up photo of a 'fixed' one.

In researching this issue I have noticed that various Ethernet shields (not just from Seeed) seem to suffer from power issues and certain ones seem to be more sensitive to power. I guess the tolerances used in manufacturing these vary quite a bit...
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:02 am

Re: W5200 Ethernet Shield BUG?

by 69fordf100 » Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:28 pm

In case you haven't figured it out, you need to take the zip file with all the code and add it to the library before it will work. In the code, it says

#include <SD.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#include <EthernetV2_0.h>

#define W5200_CS 10
#define SDCARD_CS 4
// Enter a MAC address and IP address for your controller below.
// The IP address will be dependent on your local network:
byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
IPAddress ip(192,168,1,177);

Every time I tried to compile, I got an error. I would have to take the v2.0h out before the code would compile, but then I would get a bad address on serial check. As soon as I added the library containing the proper EthernetV2_0.h script. Now it works, no problem. Try this before you start trouble shooting to board.
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:08 pm

Next

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
cron